Earth System Science and Modeling

ESSMainImage_

CPO's Earth System Science and Modeling (ESSM) division supports a unique and highly flexible climate research enterprise to improve scientific understanding of climate variability and change. The ESSM Division comprises three programs: Climate Variability & Predictability (CVP), Modeling, Analysis, Predictions, and Projections (MAPP), and Atmospheric Chemistry, Carbon Cycle, & Climate (AC4)

ESSM News

ESSM Division Chief

Dr. Jin Huang
Earth System Science and Modeling Division
P: 301-734-1185
E: jin.huang@noaa.gov

N. Darlene Ward*
P: 301-427-1220
E: darlene.ward@noaa.gov


Contact MAPP

Dr. Annarita Mariotti
MAPP Program Director
P: 301-734-1237
E: annarita.mariotti@noaa.gov

Dr. Heather Archambault
MAPP Program Manager
P: 301-734-1219
E: heather.archambault@noaa.gov

Dr. Daniel Barrie
MAPP Program Manager
P: 301-734-1256
E: daniel.barrie@noaa.gov

Alison Stevens*
MAPP Program Specialist
P: 301-734-1218
E: alison.stevens@noaa.gov


Contact Assessments

Dr. Daniel Barrie
MAPP Program Manager
P: 301-734-1256
E: daniel.barrie@noaa.gov

Alison Stevens*
MAPP Program Specialist
P: 301-734-1218
E: alison.stevens@noaa.gov


Contact CVP

Dr. Sandy Lucas
CVP Program Manager
P: 301-734-1253
E: sandy.lucas@noaa.gov


Contact AC4

Dr. Ken Mooney
Program Manager, Atmospheric Chemistry, Carbon Cycle, & Climate (AC4)
P: (301) 734-1242
F: (301) 713-0517
E: kenneth.mooney@noaa.gov

Dr. Monika Kopacz (UCAR)
Program manager, Atmospheric Chemistry, Carbon Cycle and Climate (AC4)
P: (301) 734-1208
E: monika.kopacz@noaa.gov

CONTACT US

Climate Program Office
1315 East-West Hwy, Suite 1100
Silver Spring, MD 20910

CPO.webmaster@noaa.gov

ABOUT OUR ORGANIZATION

Americans’ health, security and economic wellbeing are tied to climate and weather. Every day, we see communities grappling with environmental challenges due to unusual or extreme events related to climate and weather. In 2011, the United States experienced a record high number (14) of climate- and weather-related disasters where overall costs reached or exceeded $1 billion. Combined, these events claimed 670 lives, caused more than 6,000 injuries, and cost $55 billion in damages. Businesses, policy leaders, resource managers and citizens are increasingly asking for information to help them address such challenges.